2016 Meeting

1.jpg         2.jpg      3.jpg

Summary of the 20th Annual ECCR Meeting 2016, Friday 14th – Sunday 16th October 2016, Poiano, Lake Garda, Italy

The 20th Annual Meeting of the European Council for Cardiovascular Research (ECCR) was held from Friday 14th – Sunday 16th October 2016 at Poiano, Garda, Italy. Approximately 80 delegates represented the major research active groups in Europe and contributed to a programme noted for its outstanding scientific quality. 

Of the 2016 Annual Meeting submitted abstracts, 13 were accepted for Oral presentations and 33 for Poster Presentations.

We would like to congratulate the following people who all received certificates and prizes for their work, during the 20th Annual Meeting:


Best Oral Presentation per day

Friday 14 October

Emmanuel Guivarc'h
Rationale and development of cardiologic rehabilitation at different stages of cardiovascular continuum

Saturday 15 October

Sebastien Foulquier
Microglia regulates angiogenesis via the receptor Mas during development


Winner of the Young Investigators Competition

Zumra Kara
Investigation of the Pleiotropic Vascular Effects of Ivabradine in Control and Diabetic Rats


Winners of the Poster Presentations per group

Poster Group 1: Basic Science

Jana Grune
Non-steroidal mineralocorticoid receptor antagonism in cardiac fibrosis 

Poster Group 2: Clinical Science

Stefano Caletti
Oxidative stress and circulating T lymphocytes in normotensive subjects and in hypertensive patients

Poster Group 3: Translational Science

Niklas Beyhoff
Analysis of Global Longitudinal Strain in an Isoproterenol-Induced Cardiomyopathy Model

Verdiana Ravarotto
A novel mutation in the renal NaCl cotransporter causes impaired glycosylation and gitelman’s syndrome (GS) 



Finally we would like to thank all of our sponsors for their generous unconditional support

  • Attaquont Diagnostics
  • DMT
  • Meta Medical
  • Trust Medical
  • Visual Sonics

We look forward to another successful meeting in Garda next year.

Professor Jo G.R. De Mey

President of ECCR Society